Skip to main content

Awards for Excellent Undergraduate and Graduate Students


The awards and honors listed below were announced at the dean's convocation, were personally celebrated at this year's zoomified senior luncheon. Here are this year's awardees:

The HERDER PRIZE for the best paper written by a student in their first or second year is shared by:

The BRENTANO PRIZE for the best paper written by a student in their third or fourth year is awarded to:

The DAVID HULL PRIZE for the best senior thesis of the academic year goes to:

The HONKOM's recommendation for HONORS WITH DISTINCTION IN PHILOSOPHY goes out to:

The HONKOM's recommendation for HONORS IN PHILOSOPHY goes out to:

The HONKOM wishes to acknowledge as an honorable mention

This year's STEPHEN TOULMIN PRIZE for the best GPA in philosophy for a graduating philosophy major (honoring superior overall achievement throughout all courses in their UG-career as major and amount of engagement in philosophy-courses) is awarded to:

The LULA A. PETERSON PRIZE for exemplary citizenship is awarded to philosophy major honors students who have gone far beyond the call of duty in their functions and organizing activities to truly create atmospheric and social changes in our department. This year's award is shared by:

The RUTH BARCAN MARCUS AWARD for tutoring in formal logic goes to:

The THOMAS A. McCARTHY AWARD for Excellence in Teaching by a Philosophy graduate student Teaching Assistant is awarded to:

Many congratulations to all of our exemplary students awardees for their accomplishments!


Next Article